FATHER’S UPDATE

I was alone when you left 

Unable even to stand at your grave bereft 

For you’d had the temerity to go to Eden 

So I looked to the rest 

With my search for a father simply taking me further and farther into the abyss

Was life really meant to be like this ?
Met girls in my lust to be loved 

Hoping dearly to be held with tender gloves 

Seeing what I thought to be doves 

And starting the string of failed loves. 
Circling the sky were crows 

Following closely as I crowed,

on and on about my stories 

Living in the past as  life was sad

But honestly I missed my dad.
My life’s been filled with missteps

I wont say bad 

but in my desire to run before I could walk I’ve certainly skipped steps

Driven by the imagination that illuminates my existence 

Thoughts dragged my mind to joining you at heavens gate

despite the reticence.
Living felt like no choice 

Saved by those that held on to me so close 

It was life that the brightness in me chose 

So filled with energy I awoke 

Raised by the prevailing winds 

Blowing the smoke from the fires. 
The day we meet when my day to day is retired 

I hope I’m not mired 

In my earth days 

Hopefully won’t be said the bible says 

Pain from the heart 

I’ve become the work of art. 
I think that’s down to you 

I’m part of a chosen few 

Filled with talents 

Searching for acceptance 

Ending up the penitent 

Saint 

My hopes for the future are not faint 

My words are my paint

Internet my canvas 

As I search for response.
Attention to my friends

from all the world’s ends, 

I know I am not alone 

but maybe if you’d like to 

pick up the phone and dial.

Because sometimes I feel not worth the while 

and like that forgotten file in the cellar 

I feel in need of the pellar.
Absolve me of sin Father

and lead me to a place to begin. 

Who is my father?

By faith one I don’t see.

In life anyone it could be.

Filled with love but no modesty 

I’m king of my mind 

hoping to find more of my kind.
Keeping faith strong 

Fueled by words of song 

Overcoming the wraiths 

No space for the demons 

Because when life gives you melons ?

You don’t ask for aid.

Leave a Reply

